Updated Monday August 28, 2017 by Whitby Minor Baseball Association.

The Whitby Chiefs Minor Mosquito AA team has come out on top again. After posting a 21-
1 regular season record, the Chiefs entered Championship weekend as the team to beat.
In the first game against Oshawa, Brett Lawrence would pitch a shuotout before handing it
off to Kyle Costello to record the final out. They were then faced with the task of beating a
hot Quinte Royals team to secure a 3 rd round bye. Again, backed by great pitching from
Easton Smith-D’Oliveira, the Chiefs would come out on top, earning a bye to the undefeated
game. An upset would see Clarington take down the Peterborough Tigers, meaning Whitby
would need to play strong to remain undefeated against a surging Orioles squad. Solid
pitching, base running, and timely hitting would lead to the victory, setting the stage for
another battle against Peterborough in the morning.
On Sunday, the Chiefs jumped out to an early lead over Peterborough, and never turned
back. Easton Joss and Cole Phillips would combine for the win, setting the stage for a
rematch with Clarington.
In the finals, the Chiefs would again jump out to an early lead while Easton Smith-D’Oliveira
would once again pitch an excellent game. Cole Phillips would come on in relief to secure
the victory!
Congratulations to the EOBA Champions: Aidan Narinesingh, Brandon Foster, Brett
Lawrence, Cole Phillips, Desmond Walker, Easton Joss, Easton Smith-D’Oliveira, Griffin
Johnson, Kyle Costello, Rohan Patel, Sawyer Delaney, and our spiritual leader Jobu.