Whitby Chiefs Minor Bantam AA Wins Kanata Spring Opener Tournament

Updated Wednesday May 29, 2019 by Whitby Minor Baseball Association.

The Whitby Chiefs Minor Bantam AA team participated in the Spring Opener tournament in Kanata, ON this past weekend.

In their first tournament of the season, game #1 took place on Friday afternoon against EOBA rivals, the Peterborough Tigers. Both teams got great pitching performances, but it was the Tigers who scratched out a final 4-0 victory to put the Chiefs at 0-1 heading into Saturday action.

With heavy rain in Saturday’s forecast, the Chiefs were able to play their second game of the tournament without any issues - thanks in large part to the 8 am start time. The Chiefs battled the Ottawa Whiskey Jacks coming away with a 5-3 victory. Game #3 was delayed, but the rain stopped long enough for the ball club to face Toronto Playgrounds. Once again, the Chiefs willed their way to another 5-3 win and completed round-robin play with a 2-1 record.

The rain continued to be a factor overnight forcing the schedule on Sunday to be adjusted. After all round robin games were completed Whitby and Peterborough emerged as division winners – setting up a rematch of the opening game on Friday.

Peterborough handed the ball to their ace pitcher for a second straight start against the Chiefs. This time, the result was different. The Chiefs scored a run in the top half of the 3rd inning to take a 1-0 lead. Despite both teams getting players to 3rd base at various times throughout the game, neither club was able to capitalize. In the bottom of the 7th, Peterborough managed to load the bases with just one out. In this game, the Chiefs’ defense prevailed. After a strikeout to record the second out, a well-hit fly ball to right field was caught to end the game. The end-result was a true team effort – with all 12 players contributing in each of the four games played.

From left to Right:

Front: Matt Vanslyke, Declan Dunn, Noel Freshwater, Brayden Tokarski, Mitchell Walker, Declan Collins

Middle: Michael King, Ryan Smith, Damien Aston

Back: Coaches Geoff Freshwater & Steve Collins, Jacob Simmons, Liam Peterson, Jordan Scott, Coaches Paul Dunn & Steve Smith