Chiefs Peewee T2 Champs at 18th Annual Father's Day Classic

Updated Wednesday June 19, 2019 by Whitby Minor Baseball Association.

The Peewee T2 Chiefs continued their tournament season with a home town championship this past weekend at Whitby's 18th Annual Father's Day Classic.

With an odd number of teams entered, the hosts were given the task of playing 4 games in Round Robin play to everyone else's 3. The Chiefs started Friday evening against the Ajax Spartans and quickly got to work, scoring multiple runs in all innings for a 16-2 win. Believe it or not, the nightcap against Kanata saw a slight improvement on that, plating the same 16-run total, but allowing only 1.

Saturday morning had the Chiefs matched up against a good Richmond Hill Phoenix team, and the Chiefs kept on hitting, scoring multiple runs in the first 4 innings to take a commanding 9-0 lead highlighted by Matthew Gaspar's first ever long ball. Gaspar also started on the mound, pitching 4 scoreless, striking out 6 and walking none. The Chiefs were held scoreless in the 5th, remarkably the first inning of the tournament that they hadn't scored multiple runs. Alex Uher came in to finish the game on the mound. Final score: Chiefs 9, Phoenix 2. Game 4 against the Bytown Dodgers started with a bang when Jude Moss clubbed a lead-off homer, but the bats went quiet after that. The game was tied at 2 after 4 innings and approached time limit. The Chiefs broke through with 2 in the top of the 5th, and a 1-2-3 inning from Ryan McGivney in the bottom of the inning secured the victory and a perfect 4-0 record to take top seed in the group.

The semi-final pitted the Chiefs against EOBA rival Peterborough Tigers. The Tigers scored 2 in the top of the first and the Chiefs answered with 3 in the bottom. The game was on! Both teams scored in each of the first three innings to leave the Chiefs up 7-5 going into the 5th. The Tigers scored three in the top to take an 8-7 lead. Down 1 in the bottom of the 6th, the Chiefs loaded the bases with 1 out when a line drive base hit by Ozzie Fitzpatrick plated 2 and restored the Whitby lead. An insurance run and a shutdown inning from Alex (Mariano) Uher secured the 10-8 win and the Chiefs were on to their second final in as many tournaments.

The final turned out to be a rematch with Richmond Hill. The Chiefs opened the scoring in the top of the first with some small ball play, only to have the Phoenix answer with two of their own. Good base running and timely hitting netted the Chiefs 4 more in the second and then the pitching took over. Richmond Hill managed to make it 5-4 in the fourth inning, but one run in the 6th and two-run singles by both McGivney and Moss in the 7th sealed it.  With a brief pause to celebrate the Bantam Chiefs walk-off victory on the big diamond adjacent, (Mariano) Uher pitched a final 1.1 scoreless innings and the Chiefs claimed their second tournament championship in as many tries. Chiefs 10, Phoenix 4.

Chiefs starting pitcher Matthew Gaspar was named the finals Player of the Game with 5.2 IP, 6 K, 6 H, 4 ER.

In their next tournament, finalists Richmond Hill Phoenix are hosting the Chiefs July 26-28 where a rematch is entirely likely between these two very good baseball clubs.

The coaching staff, led by Shawn Kloostra, is impressed by the team's resiliency and determination this weekend. It was a great way to cap off an exciting Father's Day weekend.

The Whitby Peewee T2 Chiefs are: 27 - Owen Briggs, 2 - Matthew Elsenaar, 66 - Ozzie Fitzpatrick, 34 - Noah Foster, 10 - Matthew Gaspar, 44 – Darryl Jones, 9 - Brennan Kloostra, 24 - Ryan McGivney, 22 – Jude Moss, 13 - Thomas Paddick, 11 - Jahkai Reid-Innis, 23 – Alex Uher, 8 - Jacobo Zamorano; Assistant Coaches: Michael Lambert, Phil McGivney, Carlos Zamorano; Manager: Rob Paddick; Bat Boy: Michael Gaspar


Both Whitby Teams.jpg